Behind Little Vacation

The idea for Little Vacation with Bushwacker came to me when I was driving to work. And not just a starting point for the idea, but the whole thing done just popped into my head. The strange thing was, when I thought of it, I was actually thinking about which back roads would be the fastest to get me to an emissions place so I could get new tabs. My string of thoughts went along the lines of, “Okay, I’ll make a left off of Redmond Way onto 185th, take pictures of a G.I. Joe in front of vintage destination postcards, and then make a right on 186th.”

I didn’t even realize that I had had the though or settled on doing the little project for a good fifteen or so minutes when I was reviewing the directions as I was driving them. But long story short I had already decided that I was going to do the project, so soon as I got off of work, it was straight to the antique mall. I have a few that I frequent, but there’s one in particular that I know that I can find anything I want. After a good couple hours of hunt for post cards (and some new vinyl too), I was set.

The following day I stayed late at work and did a little set up in an open stage.

The hardest, and most fun part of the photos was trying to match the lighting in the photos on the G.I. Joe
Each image had a slightly different setup to best match the postcard

Also changing Bushwacker’s pose from card to card was surprisingly difficult because of how closely the camera framing was to the edges of the post card. Every time I even slightly bumped something I would have to readjust the camera and the postcard.

The view through the camera made everything worth it though!

The final images can be viewed a couple of posts below this one!

Leave a Reply

