Fire Line – Cross Here

At least I’m fairly certain that’s what the tape said. As some of you may know it was exceptionally raining in the Seattle area yesterday. With this in mind I thought the light would be lovely to shoot inside of and old abandoned house. And just as it happened, I knew right where one was as I used to dig BMX jumps there in high school. Upon arrival to the old house on the bluff, I discovered that at some point in the last few months it had been set ablaze and all that remained was a hollow burned out husk. So, instead of abandoned interiors, I present you with burned out photos.

New life has already started to spring forth from the rubble
Mediocre yet necessary photo? Nothing a few colors can’t spruce up!
This is the side of the house that has the most left.
The old basement now has a lovely skylight
Only the nails remain from the floor we used to play hide and seek on
Taken in the driest part of the house in the little bit left of the basement.
This is what most of the house looks like on the inside. You can see the bathtub and where a bedroom used to be. I was debating on whether to include this photo, but I like the story it tells.
And a final image of the beginnings of life rising from the worst charred remains.

Though it might not look like it, the hardest part of these photos was staying dry. I was crouched over the camera the whole time and had a large umbrella maneuvering from hand to hand most of the time too. All in all though, I can’t imagine a more fun way to spend a rainy day.
Hope you’ve enjoyed these and thanks for at least scrolling all the way to the bottom!

26 thoughts on “Fire Line – Cross Here

  1. I like the way you worked the site – close up, wide angle, different apertures. The top photo really caught my eye.

  2. tihi! i love your header title! you could have been my best friend! PS: I think the photo of the whole house was very nice – moody and rustic – especially with the added colors 🙂

  3. Gorgeous! You are a person after my own heart. There is so much beauty that surrounds us in so many different forms. It is diffucult for some to understand that concept. I see that this beauty does not escape you either. Whether it’s been inflected by nature or humans.

  4. Oh yes… the nails. And the teeny plants. Lovely. ( What’s that famous quotation? Something like, “under the paving stones, the beach”). I was thinking about how to take photos in the rain yesterday – this is a great example.

  5. For me these photos are a new approach to art with meaning, You draw all the attention to one area, the nails the new life, This inspires me to try a new way of putting emphasis on the bark on trees and all those paterns in nature, that my photos lack, Thanks, photography is absorbing fun for you and I know the feeling getting out regardles of time and weather and trying to get a pleasing photo.

    1. Thank you. Occasionally getting feed back like this is a big motivator to continue going out and take more and better pictures. It lets me know I’m going in the right direction. “Inspiration perpetuates inspiration,” as the mysterious “they” say.

  6. Well done! Sometimes shooting in the rain can be sooo tough. There needs to be some sort of umbrella harness to hold it in place and free up our hands! Had the same problem in Spain…camera stayed dry but I ended up soaked!

Leave a Reply

