Skeletons of Summer

For the past few weeks every time that I’ve gone out with my camera, I’ve ended up taking photos of dead plants. This is a selection of those photos.

The back ground is cars going by across an inlet of the lake
The back ground is cars going by across an inlet of the lake

And, because it’s always threatening to rain or actually raining, all of the light is nice an consistent across the whole batch.

While pretty when they're alive, their shapes become very interesting as they dry up.
While pretty when they’re alive, their shapes become very interesting as they dry up.
This is one of my favorites, when I was doing post on this one, I noticed you cans see a small blue lady beetle about mid picture
This is one of my favorites, when I was doing post on this one, I noticed you cans see a small blue lady beetle about mid picture.
Even the lake plants across the street from where I live change hugely in the winter.
Even the lake plants across the street from where I live change hugely in the winter.

I think that one of the reasons that I find all these dead plants so interesting is because for the most part everything stays green here. Most of the trees are fir trees, and ferns, ivies, and a lost of other small bushes just stay green though winter. Also the wet weather breaks most of the dead plants down fairly quickly, so by this time of year you actually have to keep an eye out to notice them.

If i were to every describe a plant as pissed, it would be this one.
If i were to ever describe a plant as pissed, it would be this one.
To take this I was standing on a nubbin of old foundation that was peeking out of the water on the lake.
To take this I was standing on a nubbin of old foundation that was peeking out of the water on the lake.
In the overgrown field near an abandoned farm.
In the overgrown field near an abandoned farm.
10 thoughts on “Skeletons of Summer

  1. I LOVE this series of photos….there are such amazing colors and textures and discoveries even among the “dead plants” that so many people miss. Thank you for sharing the angles, lighting and positioning you used to captures these photos. The detail is lovely.

  2. it’s amazing to see these. just a couple of pictures, and they seem to capture the transition and mood of season changes. beautiful

  3. I really like this series of photos, especially the one of the lake plants, where there’s just a wee bit of green still showing. Interesting perspective.
    Appreciate you stopping by my blog. I love strong color too!

  4. Wow, these photos are sooo beautiful! Great title too, “skeletons of summer”. However insignificant and grey these dry leftovers may look, they do hold the seeds for a new generation to come, and are indeed worth our full attention – which you have now given with these photos, many thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

