Over the River and Through the Woods

On Christmas Eve I joined up with my folks and we went out to visit my grandparents in the small town of Morton. Buy the time we got there I had been up for a little over 24 hours so I spend the day doing a mix of taking photos, doing the family thing, and napping.

Looking off their back porch there's I nice view of the river.
Looking off their back porch there’s I nice view of the river. Also, you can see the rain falling in this.

Unfortunately, I later found out that I was tired enough that I was rather soft on the focus, but still managed a few things alright.

There was just about ten minutes that there was some lovely thunder cloud light.
There was just about ten minutes that there was some lovely thunder cloud light.
And finally, the view from the room where I took a nap.
And finally, the view from the room where I took a nap.

Hopefully everyone had a good holiday season!

22 thoughts on “Over the River and Through the Woods

  1. The moving water is just too cool! I like the colours of everything this time 😀 Merry winter (and New years – in case I’m kept away from your blog til then;-)

    1. Wow, thank you for the link! I did a little homework on Baile Herculane, that whole town looks amazing. And quite a history, I can only imagine the things you’d find wandering and wondering there

  2. Hi there!! Thanks for dropping by my blog – which subsequently lead me to your awesome blog!!
    How did you manage to create the first image?? I’ve been taking beach/waves with high shutter speed but I’ve been having trouble with compiling the series of images into gif….

    1. It’s actually a fairly easy process. When you open photoshop there should be a menu at the bottom labeled “timeline.” If it’s not there then you can open the drop menu “Window” and it will be near the bottom. Set the playback to infinite when you have this window.

      Now that photoshop is set, just dump all your photos in to photoshop chronologically. Set them all to invisible in the layers panel except the first one. Then on your time line panel, click the new frame icon. Make the next photo visible and then repeat! That’s all there is to it for one like that 🙂

      Oh! Also, save it normally. Then do export for web and devices. This is where you choose the width and settings for it. WordPress needs it at 580px wide.
      Hope this helps!

  3. Superb cinemagraph! I was hypnotized for what seemed like hours! I’m definitely putting an animated GIF on my to-do list. I liked your other photos as well– great work! : )

Leave a Reply

