Spots of Color

My roommate and I went to explore the snowy mountains the other. And he kindly put up with me carrying my camera everywhere.ย We drove up a scenic highway to where it was closed for the year. The rest of the day was spent going though snow filled camp grounds waiting for springs warm embrace.

Orange fungus clinging to a frozen tree.
Orange fungus clinging to a frozen tree.

From wandering through a desaturated world, I quickly became obsessed with finding all of the remaining bits of color that I could.

The river still carried it's emerald green.
The river still carried it’s emerald green.

These photos are just in the order that I took them through the day.

Though drab from far way, once you closed the gap to the pine trees they were evergreen
Though drab from far way, once you closed the gap to the pine trees they were evergreen

I did take a few very cool cinemagraphs too. I haven’t had the time to put those together. I’ll probably do one a day for the next four days so that I have time to work on other projects as well.

This lichen patch caught my eye right before we left.
This lichen patch caught my eye right before we left.

Everything else I took was for cinemagraphs, so look for those over then next few days!

 

14 thoughts on “Spots of Color

Leave a Reply

