The Pillows

Lately I’ve been making a weekly trip to the mountains with who ever I can talk into coming along. While this isn’t out of the ordinary at all, there is a special reason for these trips. And that reason is called the Pillows. It’s magical enough that every week it’s worth a two hour drive to the mountains and a grueling kilometer and some hike through thigh deep snow.

(This is a post of fiddling around with different ideas and experiments. Notes will be in photo captions.)

Sometimes doing things in the old style is best
Sometimes doing things in the old style is best
Right down to the test strips.
Right down to the test strips.

This place is one of the most fun places to snowboard once you get to it. The snow is always fantastic and untouched. The whole place is just a big boulder field. But once you cover that in snow, it turns into a big play ground.

Though this photo doesn't give any sense of scale, the cliffs at the top are in the 25 foot range, the mid sections are in the area of a good few meters, and the low one in about 2 meters.
Though this photo doesn’t give any sense of scale, the cliffs at the top are in the 25 foot range, the mid sections are in the area of a good few meters, and the low one in about 2 meters.

To find this place you have to know someone who is an old ski bum, or as in my case, explore the woods until you stumble upon it. (Then pick up the name from old ski bums)

Here's a hint. (I just made this to practice After Effects)
Here’s a hint. It’s somewhere in the circle. (I just made this to practice After Effects)

I’m going to continue to go up there every week, so in the next couple of weeks I’ll probably have photos of people dropping the big rocks. Plus, next week, I’m going to take the time to hike around so I can drop the cliffs. Can’t wait for Wednesday!

My buddy Harry in one of the few pictures of people present.
My buddy Harry in one of the few pictures of people present. Also, At one point I decided to dig a hole. So I took this while standing in a 2 meter deep hole.

This post isn’t as focused as I’d like, but I just wanted to try a few different things with the photos that I had. Thanks for checking it out!

13 thoughts on “The Pillows

    1. Hahaha I don’t know what life would be like without snow. It rains all winter here in the low lands so the snow in the mountains in the only way you can really spend much time outside.

      I really like your photo style!!

  1. Love your pics – including the one with the special effects! We get a break from snow in England, but it’s been a more persistent visitor over recent years. 😎

  2. No need to talk me into coming along, had I been there i’d come at once. Gorgeous place and photos! i’m not sure how I’ll feel around so much snow, but the beauty of the place is worth the trouble πŸ™‚

    1. Just the post treatment and a couple of old sheets of paper I scanned in and turned into filters. Push the contrast, limit the colors and color ranges, increase the vibrancy while decreasing the saturation to make the colors appear more flat. Then just the paper layers over it. It only takes about 15-20 minutes. πŸ™‚ hope this helps!

      1. Yup, It’s mostly just done with the RAW levels. Then just hit import instead of save. I think the finished thing was about 4 layers. The photo. One layer of the scanned paper masked as the border, another layer of the scanned paper set to color burn with the opacity turned down for the texture, and the tope layer was just the text.

Leave a Reply

